Ensemble La Chimera


Sacred music in the Cathedral of Puebla 

Mexican Splendours - Religious music in the city of Puebla 

The city of Puebla de Los Ángeles, conceived from its foundation as an eminently Spanish city, was elevated to the rank of diocesan seat in 1539 when the cathedral of the bishopric Tlaxcala was moved there. In terms of economic and political weight, it was considered the second most important city in New Spain, surpassed only by Mexico City. However, in terms of cultural and musical development in particular, it was not only on a par with the capital of the viceroyalty, but even managed to surpass it during its greatest splendour: the 17th century.

During this golden age, the cathedral of Puebla had choirmasters who composed outstanding works: Pedro Bermúdez (1603-1604), Gaspar Fernández (1606-1629), Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla (1629-1664), Juan García de Céspedes (1664-1678), Antonio de Salazar (1679-1688), Miguel Mateo de Dallo y Lana (1688-1705). In addition to the output of these masters, there were other musicians in the service of the cathedral, whose compositional quality is surprising, given their position.

Prelates such as Francisco de Olivera, singer since 1603 and choirmaster from 1616 to 1642, Francisco López Capillas, organist and bassoonist from 1641 to 1648, Antonio de Mora, prelate from 1647 to 1654, and Juan de Baeza Saavedra, singer and prelate from 1661 to 1706, composed works not only for the cathedral but also for other religious institutions in the city, such as the Convent of the Holy Trinity of Puebla.

La Chimera Ensemble 

Eduardo Egüez, conductor 

Works by Bermudez, Capillas, De Cespedes, De Mora, De Olivera, De Padilla, De Saavedra

Bárbara Kusa, soprano

Lixsania Fernández, mezzosoprano, viola da gamba

Maximiliano Baños, countertenor

Jorge Morata, tenor

Andrés Prunell, bass

Ensemble La Chimera

Margherita Pupulin, violin

Sabina Colonna Preti, viola da gamba

María Alejandra Saturno, viola da gamba

Carolina Egüez, viola da gamba

Josué Meléndez, cornetto

Silke Gwendolyn Schulze, bombard

Catherine Motuz, sackbut

Isaure Laverne, dulcian

Carlotta Pupulin, harp

Juan José Francione, lute, guitar, vihuela

Marco Crosetto, organ

Florent Tisseyre, percussion

Eduardo Egüez, lute, guitar, vihuela

Ensemble Vocal du Luxembourg

Matthias Rajczyk, direction 

Created in 1991 by Pierre Cao, the Ensemble Vocal du Luxembourg is a mixed chamber choir of about twenty singers. The choir has become one of the main players on the choral scene of the Greater Region, having given no less than 200 quality performances since its creation. The EVL has had 4 permanent conductors: Pierre Cao, Florent Stroesser, Jean-Philippe Billmann and since 2019 Matthias Rajczyk. 

The concert is a coproduction between Trifolion and RMVA - Festival de Musique Ancienne

Duration 90 minutes + break

Algemene informatie

TRIFOLION Echternach

2, Porte St. Willlibrord

Zie op de kaart


Saturday, 25 March 2023 - 20h00


: 21€


T : 00352267239500